Guaranteed Safe Checkout

Vendor: Keny Stationery

After The Quake

Rs. 499
Tax included.

Product Type: Fiction
Vendor: Keny Stationery

Author: Haruki Murakami
Condition: New

Short description

Other Details :

  • Author : Haruki Murakami
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Edition : 2003
  • Language : English
  • Genre : Fiction
Get FREE SHIPPING if the check amount is more than Rs. 1,000.00
Shipping calculator

Guaranteed Safe Checkout


"After the Quake" by Haruki Murakami is a collection of six short stories that delve into the lives of individuals grappling with the aftermath of the 1995 Kobe earthquake in Japan. Rather than focusing on the physical destruction caused by the seismic event, Murakami explores the emotional and psychological tremors experienced by his characters.

The stories are interconnected by the earthquake, serving as a thematic backdrop that unites the diverse narratives. Murakami's characters navigate the complexities of their own lives while confronting the existential questions that arise in the face of a natural disaster. The author skillfully weaves together elements of magical realism with everyday scenarios, creating a poignant and introspective atmosphere.

Each story unfolds as an exploration of human vulnerability and resilience. Murakami captures the nuances of his characters' inner lives, portraying their struggles with love, loss, and the search for meaning. The collection features a wide array of characters, from a reclusive writer seeking solace to a man trying to reconnect with his estranged wife, offering a kaleidoscopic view of the human experience.

Throughout "After the Quake," Murakami employs his signature style, characterized by a seamless blend of the surreal and the mundane. The stories resonate with a sense of melancholy, yet they also carry a glimmer of hope and the potential for personal transformation. The earthquake serves as a metaphor for the unexpected upheavals that life brings, prompting the characters and readers alike to confront the fragility of existence.

In this collection, Murakami once again proves his ability to craft evocative narratives that transcend the boundaries of genre, providing a deeply moving exploration of the human condition in the aftermath of a seismic event.


From the Back Cover

"After the Quake" by Haruki Murakami is a mesmerizing collection of stories that intricately weaves the emotional aftermath of the 1995 Kobe earthquake into the lives of its characters. In the aftermath of the seismic catastrophe, Murakami explores the profound impact on the human psyche, delving into themes of love, loss, and existential reflection. The stories are connected by the earthquake's resonance, acting as a metaphor for the unpredictable tremors that reverberate through the characters' lives. Murakami's narrative genius is on display as he blends magical realism with everyday experiences, offering readers a poignant and introspective journey. Through diverse characters and their compelling narratives, "After the Quake" is a testament to Murakami's ability to capture the complexities of the human spirit in the face of adversity, leaving readers with a profound and lingering contemplation of life's unpredictability and the resilience of the human soul.


About the Author

Haruki Murakami:

In 1978, Haruki Murakami was twenty-nine and running a jazz bar in downtown Tokyo. One April day, the impulse to write a novel came to him suddenly while watching a baseball game. That first novel, Hear the Wind Sing, won a new writers' award and was published the following year. More followed, including A Wild Sheep Chase and Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, but it was Norwegian Wood, published in 1987, that turned Murakami from a writer into a phenomenon.

In works such as The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle1Q84, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running and Men Without Women, Murakami's distinctive blend of the mysterious and the everyday, of melancholy and humour, continues to enchant readers, ensuring his place as one of the world's most acclaimed and well-loved writers.